Announcement and Call for Nominations

The Herpetologists’ League (HL) Award for Distinguished Service to Herpetology recognizes the lifetime contributions of senior herpetologists to both the Herpetologists' League in particular and to herpetology in general. Contributions include:

  • Research excellence in the field of herpetology.
  • Leadership in scientific organizations devoted to herpetology.
  • Promotion of the science of herpetology through organization of symposia and conferences.
  • Dedicated participation in herpetological education and outreach.
  • Encouragement and mentoring of students.
  • Activities promoting achievements of colleagues or general advancements in the field of

With this announcement, we seek nominations for the HL Award for Distinguished Service to Herpetology, to be awarded in 2022. Nominations of candidates to the society must be made by a third party (i.e., self-nominations will not be accepted). Nominations must be accompanied by at least one letter of support from the nominator(s), addressing the candidate's suitability for the award in terms of the above criteria, as well as a current Curriculum vitae (or equivalent document providing details of the nominee's career highlights and accomplishments, including their publication record). Nominations should be sent by email to the chair of the HL Distinguished Service to Herpetology committee (Al Savitzky; by 31 March 2022.

Nominations normally will be kept confidential; nominators therefore are asked not to inform nominees of their nomination unless necessary for obtaining the CV or other information. However, unsuccessful nominations will be kept under active consideration for a maximum of three years; after that period, nominators, if they so choose, can submit a new and updated nomination of the candidate. Although nominations are to be kept confidential, winners will be notified of their award in advance of the annual meeting to give them the opportunity to attend the meeting to receive their award; however, we encourage winners to not reveal their award to others ahead of the annual meeting.

The award winner will receive a plaque and $1500 US. A photograph and short biography of the award winner will be published in Herpetologica and posted on the HL website. HL also will cover the awardee's registration for the meeting at which they will receive the award.